First Half Marathon

I started running this year.  My New Year’s Resolutions included run a 5K and a 10K.  I decided to do this so I could work on my “mental toughness”.  Often I feel like I am not a very dedicated person, and when I get tired of something or don’t like it anymore I fight with wanting to just give up.  I decided to start running because I thought I absolutely hated it and it would cause me to have to persevere.

Early in the year I completed the 5K and the 10K.  It was difficult for me, but it was encouraging as I saw my mental toughness increase as well as my physical toughness.  I decided to take it to the next level and began training for a half marathon.  Because it is a billion degrees here in the summer I ran in the evenings or early mornings and carried water (in my sweet fanny pack).  September rolled around and I signed up for the race.  I was ready.

Mom came to cheer me on…(and wore the sweet fanny pack)!  I ran the whole thing, and was really happy with how I felt afterwards.
It was a lot of fun, and hopefully there are many more races to come!

One thought on “First Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

