What to do with…Kale

I have received a lot of Kale in my CSA shares lately.  I don’t think I have ever had any before, and was unsure about what to do with it.  The first time I got it I sauted it in a pan with some olive oil and seasonings.  Then I found a recipe for Kale Chips.

Just clean and cut up kale.  Place it on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.  (I only had waxed paper, so you can try that too.)  Drizzle the kale with olive oil and sprinkle with garlic salt and cayenne.  Bake at 350 for about 15 min until brown on edges, but not burnt.

Obviously, I let these babies go too long.  The taste of the dark ones was something like charcoal, BUT, the ones that I didn’t burn tasted a lot like chips.  So, I would definitely try again, especially because I don’t have a ton of ideas for what to do with the stuff.

On a more positive food note, here is the salad I made with the greens from the CSA.

Delicious…and nutritious.  However, because I didn’t have any cheese on this thing I went to get some calcium to go with it.

Yes friends, it is the chocolate mix with M&Ms from Braums.  Please remember, calcium is so important for bone health.

One thought on “What to do with…Kale

Leave a Reply

